Onederland 

on


Last weekend I checked off one of my goals which is to run and complete a 5k. I can now say that I have done this. The other thing on my list is to make it to onederland. Onederland is any weight under 200lbs. It’s a big deal if you have been overweight for most of your life. Last time I was under 200lbs was in middle school or junior high. I remember the day when I went to the doctors and he stated that I was too fat for my age. I left the doctors office in shame because how could I let this awful thing happen to me. I know it was my fault and this is what I deserved. 

I have lived with this shame for years not knowing other things were a factor. Like genectics, and environment. I realize now that I grew up eating a lot of processed foods and my parents didn’t really look at food as nourishment. They just praised the fact you weren’t starving. I eat less processed foods now. I know the quality of eating the right foods for your body. 

I think the hardest part now is changing the perception of me to my family. For instance, my parents pegged me a big boned, plus size woman for the rest of my life and now I am going against that idea of me. 

How do you address this issue to your family?

I am very thankful that I have a supportive sister through the whole weight loss journey. She had my back when she went head to head with my father explaining to him how I am loosing weight healthfully and I am not starving myself. When I told my dad that I am now a size 10-12 he was in shock and stated that I need to stop like I am addicted to an illegal substance and it is ruining my life.  

This is my new life now and I have committed to it fully. I never want to be over 200lbs again!

Leave a Reply

