The Humility of Coming in Last

July 9th 2016 I set out to carry out another one of my active bucket list goals. To run a 10K. The previous weekend of running a 5K went well. However, the Midnight Madness 10K was a real timed athletic race. People when awards and qualify for things. I was really nervous about this race because this was my first time running a 10K. I know I have practiced for over 14 weeks to run a 10K according to my app. Physically I felt I could complete a 10K. I even estimated how long it would take me to complete the race. Based on a 18:00 minute mile pace, I should roughly finish the race in about an hour and 50 minutes. I was up for the challenge and I knew the terrain I was up against because I ran it before. I picked up my race material/packet and I got to the race around 7:30pm for the 10K race to start at 8:30pm. I was watching all the 5K runners complete the race and routing them on. I also, was warming up my body to race that day. I did some short power walks and some stretches to prepare myself for the race. Based on my experience last weekend during my 5K I didn’t want to be up in the front running. So I positioned myself to the back of the pack.

What I didn’t know at that time was that I was going to learn a lesson in humility!

I don’t know about your race day preparations but for me it is a physical game as well as a mental game. I talk myself up about how great I am for accomplishing my goals and for all the people who support me etc… I suspect this is what runners and athletes do before a major competition.

As I stated I was in the back of the pack getting my self ready to run when the GUN! went OFF! It was time to get running. I was running at my pace that I have worked on since I began my running journey thinking there has to be some people who are at my pace or slower. However, I slowly realize that I was a turtle among hares. In less than 10 minutes I was left by myself running a 10K.

jpl_0900-m-600x399

201408033_thumb

This is where the lesson in humility came in. At the moment I had feelings of shame and embarrassment. I been working hard for 14+ weeks to be able to run a 10K and I was a shamed that I could not keep up with the pack of 10K runners. I was also embarrassed because all the 10K crowd was going to look at me and think what the hell is she running for she is so slow she might as well walk. All these thoughts of embarrassment and shame came into my head. Until finally, I looked around and saw people clapping and hooting and yelling way to go on my 10K run. So that is the moment I decided that either I came to complete the race for me or not at all. At that time I said, I wanted to complete this race for me because I worked hard to get running. I never said I was fast but I am definitely a finisher. So I ran my 10K race with my head held high and I finished last. I may have finished in last place but I finished first place in my accomplishment.

I might even make it a thing to be the last person to finish a race. Everyone remembers the top 5 fastest runners and people remember the last runners. So if I want to be remembered, then I am coming in last.

Leave a Reply

